Bloomberg media bias rating is Lean Left.

Bloomberg has a Lean Left AllSides Media Bias Rating™.

AllSides changed Bloomberg's media bias rating from Center to Lean Left following our August 2020 blind bias survey, which found that respondents from all political groups on average found Bloomberg's bias to be Lean Left. Pluralities of respondents across groups who identify their own personal political bias as Left, Lean Left, Center, and Lean Right found Bloomberg to be Lean Left; a plurality of far Right respondents found Bloomberg's bias to be far Left.

Media Bias by Omission: Bloomberg Doesn't Investigate Democratic Presidential Candidates

As of Nov. 2019, Bloomberg admits that it engages in bias by omission with a Lean Left bent. Mike Bloomberg, New York City mayor and founder of the financial software company that owns Bloomberg, officially entered the 2020 Democratic presidential race in Nov. 2019. According to a memo sent to editorial and research staff obtained by CNBC and verified by a Bloomberg spokesperson, Bloomberg News announced it would refrain from investigating Mayor Bloomberg and his Democratic rivals.

“We will continue our tradition of not investigating Mike (and his family and foundation ) and we will extend the same policy to his rivals in the Democratic primaries. We cannot treat Mike’s democratic competitors differently from him,” Editor-in-Chief John Micklethwait said in the memo.

In Dec. 2019, President Donald Trump's campaign announced it would stop credentialing Bloomberg News reporters for rallies and other events until the outlet resumed investigating Democratic candidates.

Mike Bloomberg is founder and 89% shareholder in Bloomberg LP, the financial software company that owns Bloomberg News.

Bloomberg Media Bias Rating Prior to 2020

From 2012 to 2014, AllSides rated Bloomberg as having a Lean Right media bias, but a majority of AllSides users disagreed. Following a review, Bloomberg's bias rating was changed to Center in July 2014.

The results of an October 2013 AllSides blind bias survey also reflected that a majority of respondents rated Bloomberg's reporting as Center.

More About Bloomberg

Bloomberg L.P. is a privately held financial, software, data and media company founded in 1981 in New York City. It initially began as a computerized system founded by Michael Bloomberg with the help of Thomas Secunda, Duncan MacMillan, and Charles Zegar, designed to provide real-time market data and analytics to firms on Wall Street. With the help of an ownership investment by Merill Lynch, the company was able to develop the Bloomberg terminal computer system in 1983.

Bloomberg currently provides news in a variety of formats, including a wire service, a global television network, digital websites, a radio station, newsletters and magazines. With a focus on business and economics-related topics, Bloomberg News has redefined itself to become the “chronicle of capitalism,” as editor-in-chief John Micklethwait indicated in 2015. Bloomberg’s main source of revenue remains the Bloomberg Terminal, which offers financial software tools to companies and organizations on Wall Street. 


Bloomberg Facts

Authors who have written for Bloomberg

Leslie Patton, Noah Feldman, Ryan Collins, Ben Steverman, Esmé E Deprez, Masumi Suga, Bill Allison , and 134 more. See full list. Bill Allison, Megan Mcardle, Tommaso Ebhardt, Olga Kharif, Naomi Nix, Andrew M Harris, Max Chafkin, Margaret Talev, Arit John, Patricia Hurtado, Greg Stohr, Lauren Coleman-Lochner, Vivian Nereim, Susan Decker, Erik Larson, Brendan Scott, Dana Hull, Spencer Soper, David Voreacos, Chris Strohm, Jeff Kearns, Anurag Kotoky, Elena Mazneva, Jeanna Smialek, Matthew Boesler, Chris Dolmetsch, Jonathan Stearns, Kim Chipman, Shawn Donnan, Billy House, Andrew Mayeda, Mark Niquette, Alan Levin, Josh Saul, Steven Church, David Welch, Dara Doyle, Jennifer Epstein, Samer Al-Atrush, Jennifer Jacobs, Olivia Zaleski, Eric Newcomer, Craig Trudell, Ryan Beene, Daniele Lepido, Mark Gurman, Laura Davison, Joe Light, Jonathan Browning, Craig Giammona, Lizette Chapman, Alexandre Tanzi, Miao Han, Sarah Ponczek, Randall Jensen, David Wainer, Shahien Nasiripour, Shannon Pettypiece, Karen Leigh, Arne Delfs, Patrick Donahue, Lucas Shaw, Steven T. Dennis, Sahil Kapur, Rick Clough, Terrence Dopp, Drew Singer, Ros Krasny, Saleha Mohsin, Josh Eidelson, Lydia Mulvany, Derek Wallbank, Jared S Hopkins, Katia Dmitrieva, Andrew M. Harris, Henry Goldman, Kurt Wagner, Sarah Frier, Olivia Rockeman, Jenny Leonard, Alex Harris, Oliver Telling, Rob Golum, Joshua Gallu, Maria Jose Valero, Jess Shankleman, Robert Hutton, Josh Wingrove, Aaron Mc Nicholas, Chloe Whiteaker, Justin Chin, Bryce Baschuk, Matthew G Miller, Justin Sink, Kateryna Choursina, Alyza Sebenius, David R. Baker, Mark Chediak, Jeffrey Taylor, Nick Wadhams, Stephanie Baker, Michael McDonald, Miles Weiss, Janet Lorin, Joe Sobczyk, Tim Ross, Alex Morales, Ed Hammond, Ruth David, Dinesh Nair, Dina Bass, Olivia Carville, Michael Sasso, Will Wade, Benjamin Din, Aoife White, Reade Pickert, Stacie Sherman, Michael Marois, Michelle Jamrisko, Ville Heiskanen, Scott Lanman, Andreea Papuc, Yakob Peterseil, Adam Haigh, Kari Soo Lindberg, Edward Ludlow, Linly Lin, Saritha Rai, Zheping Huang, Edvard Pettersson, Justin Bachman, Michael P. Regan, Lu Wang, Sam Potter See less.

This list is provided by It is a beta feature and may not be 100% accurate.