Breitbart News media bias rating is Right.

Breitbart has a Right media bias rating.

Table of Contents 

Breitbart Fact Check Section Also Shares Right Bias: July 2021 Editorial Review

Small Group Editorial Review of Breitbart’s fact-checking page by AllSides editors on the left, center, and right in July 2021 found that this section had a Right bias rating. 

There was bias in story choice, as Breitbart fact checks the left far more than the right. Secondly, there was the use of opinions and sensationalism in some articles labeled as fact checks, such as “welcome to Salem, welcome to another witch hunt, another race hoax.”

We noted an instance of an unsubstantiated claim, such as in this article, where the author claims “crime fell in most places at the start of the pandemic,” but only provides a source showing a drop in crime in California to back this up.

Back to Top ^

Breitbart Audience Political Leaning

According to the 2014 Pew Research Study, Where News Audiences Fit on the Political Spectrum, a majority (79%) of Breitbart readers held political values to the political right or right-of-center. About 7% of Breitbart's audience held left or left-of-center political values (compared with 38% of all respondents to the survey). Roughly 14% of Breitbart's audience was considered to hold mixed or center-aligned political values (compared with 36% of all respondents to the survey).

Back to Top ^

Community Feedback

As of August 2019, a small number of AllSides readers (7,950) disagreed with our rating of Right for Breitbart. Those who disagreed gave Breitbart an average bias rating of 27.6, meaning they believed Breitbart to be closer to a Lean Right rating. Community votes do not determine our ratings; they simply act as valuable feedback that our ratings may be off. 

Back to Top ^

About Breitbart News

Breitbart News Network is a politically conservative American news and opinion website headquartered in Los Angeles, California, with additional bureaus in Texas, London and Jerusalem. Breitbart was founded in 2007 by conservative commentator and entrepreneur Andrew Breitbart. It initially featured wire stories and direct links to a number of major international organizations. Since then, Breitbart has developed to include more original content, with website components including, and

Breitbart has been involved in notable, often controversial stories, including:

Back to Top ^

Funding, Financing and Ownership

Note: Funding and ownership is not taken into account when determining AllSides Media Bias Ratings. While it's true ownership and financial interests can affect what goes to print, our bias ratings are determined by assessing the bias of content only. We provide financial and ownership information as an FYI to our readers.

Breitbart is owned by Breitbart News Network LLC. Andrew Breitbart founded and launched as a news aggregator in 2005. After the death of Andrew Breitbart in 2012, Larry Solov became CEO and president of Breitbart News. According to BuzzFeed's Steve Perlberg; Solov appeared before the Standing Committee of the Senate Press Gallery in Nov. 2016 to secure official Capitol Hill credentials. In the meeting, Solov revealed that the owners are himself, founder Andrew Breitbart's widow, Susie Breitbart, and the Mercer family. Breitbart's family owns the largest stake.

Financing and ownership information last updated March 11, 2021 If you think this information is out of date or needs to be updated, please contact us.

Back to Top ^

Authors who have written for Breitbart News

Ian Mason, Charlie Spiering, Aaron Klein, James Delingpole, Adam Shaw, Michelle Moons, Jerome Hudson , and 273 more. See full list. Jerome Hudson, David Ng, Donald Trump, Justin Caruso, Pam Key, Charlie Nash, Alex Swoyer, Kyle Morris, Awr Hawkins, Sean Moran, Kristina Wong, Charlie Kirk, Charles Hurt, Trent Baker, Chadwick Moore, Ralph Norman, Cliff Sims, John Hayward, Robert Kraychik, Matthew Boyle, Robert Barnes, Rohit Arora, John Lee, John Solomon, Adelle Nazarian, Deborah Danan, Allum Bokhari, Thomas D. Williams, Justin Haskins, Patrick Howley, Tom Cotton, Ann Coulter, Ben Shapiro, Brent Bozell, Rand Paul, Alfredo Ortiz, Tim Graham, Kelly Sadler, John Carney, Marco Rubio, Matthew Whitaker, Tony Lee, Sean Spicer, Frank J. Gaffney, Penny Starr, James P. Pinkerton, Neil Munro, John Binder, Alana Mastrangelo, Bob Price, Hannah Bleau, Michael Patrick Leahy, Joshua Caplan, Dr. Susan Berry, John Nolte, Simon Kent, Katherine Rodriguez, Chris Tomlinson, Matt Gaetz, Rob Smith, Breitbart Tv, Andrew Pollack, Elaine Parker, Nigel Farage, Ben Kew, Ildefonso Ortiz, Brandon Dar, Edwin Mora, Nate Church, Joel B. Pollak, Warner Todd Huston, Tom Ciccotta, Frances Martel, Jack Montgomery, Oliver Jj Lane, Victoria Friedman, Lucas Nolan, Breitbart Jerusalem, Daniel Leberfeld, Peter Schweizer, Haris Alic, Robert Arce, Rafael Valera, Dylan Gwinn, Amy Furr, William Perry, T.D. Adler, Amanda House, Breitbart Texas, Sarah Rumpf, Jeff Poor, Virgil, Liam Deacon, Rebecca Mansour, Joshua Klein, Tim Donnelly, Orlando Gutierrez, Kurt Zindulka, Kris W. Kobach, Christian K. Caruzo, Jenny Beth Martin, Nancy Kaufman, Linda Tripp, Merrill Hope, Jaeson Jones, Tom Fitton, John J. Xenakis, Nick Hallett, Garrett Murch, Daniel Nussbaum, Virginia Hale, Andy Surabian, Ian Hanchett, Kelli Serio, Paul Gosar, Ezra Dulis, Andrew Breitbart, Jenna Ellis, Matt O'Brien, Pamela Geller, @NeilMunroDC, Caroline May, Patrick K. O'Donnell, Alexander Marlow, Caroline Glick, Graham Allen, Daniel Redmond, Sen. Kevin, Dennis Lennox, Mario A. Duarte, Mike Davis, Yvette Herrell, Rep. Bradley Rne, Marsha Blackburn, Rabbi Aryeh Spero, Donna Rachel, Lana Shadwick, Ryan Fournier, Callista Gingrich, Chriss W. Street, James Zumwalt, Zenny Phuong, Morton A. Klein, Rich Kaye, Shmuley Boteach, Ken Klukowski, James Taylor, Benjamin Harris, Robert Davi, Frank Pavone, Susan Berry, Zach D. Huff, Dr. Susan, Brian Lonergan, Tom Price, Charlie Spies, Calvin Robinson, Curtis Ellis, Larry Solov, J. Hogan Gidley, Ze'Ev Zion, Steve Hantler, Jeff Sessions, Kyle Olson, Jack Hadfield, Elizabeth Yore, Gabrielle Reyes, Bill Hagerty, Ryan Helfenbein, Logan Churchwell, J. Christian Adams, Brigitte Gabriel, Kevin Scholla, Dale Wilcox, Tamas Deutsch, Kimberly Guilfoyle, David Brat, David Ray, Eric Eggers, David Horowitz, John Hagee, Daniel J. Flynn, James Bopp, Corey R. Lewandowski, Dan Stein, Rich Cooper, Rick Pogue, Sen. Marsha Blackburn, Wayne Allyn Root, Rick Manning, Marcel Guarnizo, Tony Aranda, Bill Cassidy, Justin Danhof, C.L. Gray, Ashley Oliver, Ncppr (Sponsored), Ben Greening, Burgess Owens, Patrick K., Dinesh D'Souza, Matt Perdie, Fred Gedrich, Rabbi Aryeh, Matthew Tragesser, John Sexton, Katrina Pierson, Honest Elections, Bernard Kerik, Ken Blackwell, Jason Lewis, Breitbart Tech, Colonel Richard Kemp, Sen. R, Paul (R-Ky), Seamus Bruner, Janet Morana, Ed Martin, Peter Murphy, Louie Gohmert, Nicolas Bauer, Sen. Kelly Loeffler, David Grantham, Kevin Burke, Dennis A. Black, Limited Government, Mark W. Smith, Ben Whedon, Mark Paoletta, David N. Bossie, Manifold Productions, Robert Royal, Raheem Kassam, Robert G. Kaufman, Judicial Crisis, Sen. Joni Ernst, Robert Campbell, Lucja Swiatkowski Cannon, David Daleiden, Neil W. Mccabe, Julia Hahn, Jen Lawrence, Katie Mchugh, Mike Ma, Dan Riehl, Mona Salama, Lee Stranahan, Sonnie Johnson, Lamar Smith, Andy Badolato, Mary Chastain, Tom Rose, Dustin Stockton, Lara Gwinn, Sharon Day, Sebastian Gorka, Robert J. Marlow, Wynn Marlow, Cathy Sanchez Genty, Deborah Brand, Gerald Tony Aranda, Randy Clark, Mike Stenhouse, Jeremy Brand, Wendell Husebo, Madeleine Hubbard, Ron Donalds, Jacob Bliss, Darcy Olsen, Mike Garcia, Buddy Carter, Breccan Thies, Breccan F. Thies, Barry Fleming See less.

This list is provided by It is a beta feature and may not be 100% accurate.