Des Moines Register media bias rating is Center.

The Des Moines Register is a daily newspaper based in Des Moines, Iowa. Originally founded in 1848 as the Iowa Star, it's the largest newspaper in the state, with a circulation of 101,91. In 1985, the Register was purchased by the Gannett Company and in 2014 joined the publishing company's USA TODAY Network, which includes both national and local brands across the country. The paper's mission is "strongly local – we know [Iowans] care about what’s happening in your neighborhood, at your schools and at the statehouse."

Like its national counterpart, USA TODAY, the Des Moines Register has a center bias. Its news articles do not reliably favor opinions on either side of the political aisle, and its editorial board often exhibits both conservative and liberal bias.The paper endorsed Mitt Romney for president in 2012, Republican Senator Marco Rubio for the GOP nomination in 2016, and Hillary Clinton for president the same year. Before it was sold to Gannett in 1985, it had won more Pulitzer Prizes for national reporting than any other newspaper except The New York Times.


Authors who have written for Des Moines Register

@DMRegister, Kit Fitzgerald, Courtney Crowder, Stephen Gruber, Brianne Pfannenstiel, Daniel P. Finney, Katie Wedell , and 101 more. See full list. Katie Wedell, Lucille Sherman, Sky Chadde, Adam Wilson, Ledyard King, Jim Sergent, Rachel Axon, Kyle Bagenstose, Kevin Crowe, Joseph Cress, Tom Schad, Usa Today Iowa Network, Olivia Sun, Brian Powers, Kelsey Kremer, Bryon Houlgrave, Philip Joens, Andrea May Sahouri, Melody Mercado, Nick Coltrain, Zach Thompson, Daniel Lathrop, Sierra A. Porter, Aruni Soni, Samantha Hernandez, Ian Richardson, Robin Opsahl, Tim Webber, Tony Leys, William Morris, Tyler Jett, Ryan J. Foley, Hannah Rodriguez, Aaron Calvin, Josh Funk, Elle Wignall, Kim Norvell, Donnelle Eller, Perry Beeman, Isaac Hamlet, Isabella Rosario, Lee Rood, David Pitt, Ben Yoder, Tommy Birch, Sarah Kay, Annie Todd, Adam Hensley, Holmes Kelsey Kremer, Nic Garcia, Zachary Boyden-Holmes, Bill Steiden, Teresa Kay Albertson, Scott Mcfetridge, Emery Glover, Dargan Southard, Eric Ferkenhoff, Katie Akin, Paula Reece, Corey Mitchell, Joe Yerardi, Susan Ferriss, Phillip Sitter, Michaele Niehaus, Chris Sims, Clark Kauffman, Jessica Guynn, Amber Mohmand, Chris Higgins, Chloe Gonzales, Doyle Rice, George Shillcock, Cleo Krejci, Suman Naishadham, Matthew Daly, Missy Keenan, Zachary Thompson, Aaron Young, Brad Vidmar, Megan Bridgeman, Davis Pitt, Nicole Grundmeier, Jared Strong, Gov. Kim Reynolds, Usa Today Network, Susan Stapleton, Cody Goodwin, Danielle Gehr, Dawn Gilbertson, Anne Ducharme, Grace Altenhofen, Sara Konrad Baranowski, Iowa Falls, Matthew Bain, Grace Pateras, Diane Pantaleo, Cecelia Hanley, Chelsey Lewis, Omar Waheed, Sarah Nelson, Richard Lane, Jered Strong See less.

This list is provided by It is a beta feature and may not be 100% accurate.