2022 Alaska Senate Election

In Alaska, Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R) is looking to reclaim her seat amid new state election rules. The primary election is on August 16th, and the general election is on November 8th.

This election will mark the first U.S. Senate race in Alaska held under Alaska Measure 2, a new ballot process approved by voters in 2020 that dismantles the primary party system. The four top candidates, regardless of their party affiliation, will advance to the general election where ranked-choice voting will determine the winner. Some analysts predict that this system will help more moderate candidates get elected.

State lawmaker Elvi Gray-Jackson (D-Anchorage) was the only Democrat running in the Alaska Senate race, but she recently dropped out and will instead seek re-election to the state Senate. Lindsay Kavanaugh, executive director of the Alaska Democratic Party, confirmed that her party is “absolutely not” surrendering the race and will announce a candidate in the near future. 

Meanwhile, there are a number of strong Republican candidates that could make one of the top four spots in Alaska’s general election alongside Murkowski. Kelly Tshibaka (R) has been endorsed by former President Donald Trump and has been gaining Republican support on Twitter for speaking out against the SCOTUS nominees and the White House’s response to Putin’s invasion of Ukraine.

Balanced News about 2022 Alaska Senate Election on AllSides from the Left, Center and Right

Balanced News about 2022 Alaska Senate Election from Across the Web Powered by Google. Enhanced by AllSides.

AllSides Balanced Search™ gives you recent news from outlets on all sides of the political spectrum so you can get the full picture.

Looking for results from think tanks and policy groups? Try the Balanced Think Tank Search.