See Local News
Get Balanced News From Your U.S. State.
See Local News
See all locals

Larson, Andreski, Hicks and Johnson win seats on West Des Moines School Board

Posted on AllSides November 7th, 2023
From The Center

Voters in the West Des Moines school district on Tuesday elected a slate of school board candidates backed by progressive political groups and the local teachers union. Michael Andreski (16%), Elizabeth Larson (18%) and incumbents Jeff Hicks (15%) and Jill Caton Johnson (17%) won the four open seats in the district. Eight candidates ran for the four at-large board seats: Andreski, Larson, Hicks, Johnson, Laurie Beilstein (9%), Teri Patrick (9%), Aaron Sewell (6.1%) and Scott White (8.4%). The results come amid increased scrutiny and political pressure toward school boards across...

Read full story
Some content from this outlet may be limited or behind a paywall.

AllSides Picks

More News about Politics from the Left, Center and Right

From the Left

From the Center

From the Right