Johnson hails ‘new beginning’ as UK counts down to Brexit

Posted on AllSides January 31st, 2020
From The Left

LONDON (AP) — Britons counted down the hours Friday to their country’s departure from the European Union — some joyous, some sad, many just hopeful the divorce would mark the end of an anguished chapter in their country’s history.

The U.K. officially departs the EU at 11 p.m. local time, midnight in Brussels (2300 GMT, 6 p.m. EST). The move comes 3½ years after the country voted by a margin of 52%-48% to walk away from the club that it had joined in 1973.

Throughout the day, bands of ardent...

Read full story

Associated Press

AllSides Media Bias Rating: Lean Left
AllSides Media Bias Rating: Lean Left
110222/85850
See full bias rating for Associated Press
Learn about media bias
https://apnews.com/e48bf51838ced94e2d92adba189b4944

More News about World from the Left, Center and Right

From the Left

From the Center

From the Right